Race and Decay (II.75)

So. I can see a row, endlessly long, of accusing faces that turn to me as I enter the room, only to whisper in their most hideous voices available…”Where have you been, master? What good do you think you do when you’re abandoning us like that? Why don’t you kill us off with a bottle of vodka or two? Do you hate us?”

They are my unthought thoughts, of course, and their presence cannot ever be rendered less painful – unless I take them up, one by one and in a row, to think them out, each single one of them, and then they resolve their painful, unborn existence into a consummated stage of arrival: “Plopp!”, they go, and “We are thought!”

I returned only in the early morning hours from the London event on April 26 that I mentioned in my previous posts. It was great. Really, it was. Unfortunately, I’m just crouching around with an exhaustion-plus-a-real-bad-cold – melange that’s keeping my productivity at a level of around 30%, or so. I was, therefore, glad to just sit there and listen to a few other insightful people’s insights on Lovecraft’s relation to critical theory and take a few inspirations with me…and some glimpses of Lovecraftian art that I saw in the process of being painted. And China Miéville’s insistence on the radical novelty of the tentacular per se in Lovecraft’s fiction, unheard of in, say, folk tales: but where do you take that novelty if not into the shallow waters of repressed sexuality clearing its way through a phallic symbol, the tentacle? Who knows? And, not least, I found it relevant to hear the artist Miéville say about the artist Lovecraft that, indeed, there are stories where his racism is packed into interesting casts, and others where this is just not the case. Racism and Aesthetics, that is, do not claw each others’ faces, and the appreciation of one must not be suspended while appreciating the other.

April 27 saw me hanging out at the British Museum a good deal, one of my favorite nerd places in the world: it always keeps me bumbling between utterly innocent and childlike joy at how zesty and rich the world can be if you collect it into a museum panorama, digging conciliatory rhetorics on all the filthy parts, and – utter bafflement at the grandeur of the museum’s center, the Great Court.

3 Comments

  1. Hey, just link to raincoaster and other squid squad bloggers when you don’t feel like serious blogging. There’s always clever Lovecraft allusions and mash-ups out there….

  2. Good idea, at least I should always keep the Lovecraft diorama spinning and seek out other Lovecraftian blogs out there in the sphere.

  3. I make it easy: I’ve even got a Cthulhu tag!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

